The Distinguished Bernardian Gala will be held on Saturday, September 29th at 6pm at the Double Tree by Hilton, Leominster.

Tickets are $60 per person and sponsorships are available and purchased online at  For information, please contact Bernardian Foundation President, Laura Reynolds at or 508-733-4404

2018 Inductees

Mary (Nally) Whitney, Class of 1953

Mary has been selected for a life time of public service.  She served on the Fitchburg City Council and school committee for fourteen years before being elected as the first female mayor of Fitchburg in 1988.

Claire (DiNatale) Freda, Class of 1966

Claire has the distinction of being the longest servicing elected official in the City of Leominster beginning in 1987.  She was 2016 Starburst Citizen of the Year; honored a Paul Harris Fellow through Rotary International; and serves as the Safe Environment Coordinator at St. Anna Parish.

Karen (St. Cyr) Leger, Class of 1965

Karen has been selected for her life time of dedication to Catholic Education. Karen has been a corner stone at St. Leo’s Elementary School, Leominster as an educator and leader for over 35 years.  She is an active member of Holy Family of Nazareth Parish, Leominster.

William McSheehy, Class of 1966

William has been selected for his years of volunteerism. He volunteers for local political campaigns and serves as a liaison for local non-profits, public officials and the community.

Bishop Wayne Berndt, Class of 1972

Bishop Berndt has been chosen for his lifetime devotion to the Catholic Church.  He has recently been appointed by Pope Francis as Bishop of the Diocese of Naha in the Okinawa Prefecture, Japan. He becomes the first foreign prelate in Japan since 1941.

Martha McKittrick, Class of 1979

Martha is a registered dietician and is specialist in the area of Type II Diabetes.  She is a sought after consultant and has authored several books on how to live with Type II Diabetes.

Colonel David Schmitt, Class of 1988

David is selected for his service to our country.  The Lt. Col graduated from the United States Military Academy in 1992 and was commissioned into the Ordnance Corps Branch.  This branch of the military most notably is responsible for removal of unexploded ordnances which endanger civilians

Nathan Bilotta, Class of 1993

Nathan is selected for is dedication to his community and catholic education. He is the Chairman of the St. Bernard’s Elementary School Board and is a member of the St. Paul’s Catholic Schools Consortium board. Despite having Multiple Sclerosis and living with the challenges associated with this disease, Nathan continues to give his time, his energy and his heart to various causes.

CDR Michael Norton, Class of 1993

Michael is also selected for his service to our country.  CDR Norton graduated from the United States Naval Academy in 1997 and was selected for training as a Naval Aviator.  He was selected as a permanent professor at the Naval Academy and is currently assigned to the Department of Leadership Ethics and Law.